The Impact of Your Support

Submitted by Diana Knight on
Baccalaureates at the departmental commencement celebration in June 2023.

Our capacity for excellence in research and teaching is a direct result of hundreds of friends and alumni coming together to support the department’s work each year. With your help, we are educating the next generation of leading scientists, advancing the field of chemistry, and accelerating vital scientific discoveries.

In the past year, your gifts have made a tangible impact on:

  • Recruiting the top graduate student applicants by providing generous fellowship support
  • Strengthening research programs by expanding professional development activities, salary support, and lab equipment through endowed professorships
  • Supporting undergraduate students by funding awards, scholarships, and research stipends
  • Investing in staff through continuing education and training
  • Sustaining the culture, community, and education of students and postdocs by funding lectures, community building events, and student clubs

As we look to the future, we see significant potential: to invest in our research infrastructure, to provide professional development and research opportunities for our undergraduate and graduate students and postdocs, to advance evidence-based equity-minded practices in chemical sciences education, research and mentoring at the UW. Donor support – both annual gifts and endowment funding – will play a major role in helping us achieve this vision. We hope you will consider investing in our students, faculty and research with a gift today.

  • Make your gift online
  • Mail your gift to the UW Foundation, Box 359505, Seattle, WA 98195
    • Make check payable to the UW Foundation
    • Indicate on the memo line or enclosed note how you want your gift allocated. The Friends of Chemistry Fund (CHEDIS) provides unrestricted support

Thank you for your generosity and for being a part of our community.

We recognize here donors who contributed to our fellowships and programs from June 1, 2022, through May 31, 2023. If your name is missing or misspelled, we apologize and hope you will let us know.

Gerald & Sara Adams
Brenda & Luis Adrian
Ronald Aley & Joy Jackson
Anonymous (5)
Hazen Babcock
John & Jill Barker
Jack & Carol Baush
Roy Behm
Simon Bennett
Arvid Berg & Sophia Zervas-Berg
James & Debra Billigmeier
George Blomgren
Douglas & Gloria Bond
Nic Buser II
William & Susan Butenko
Maria & Rudy Cabanela
Ann & Carl Cady
Howard & Joyce Cady
Elzelina Callis
Donald & Patricia Carlberg
Bernard Carlsen
Kristin & Robert Carver
Kenneth Clark & Hasmig Seropian
William & Mary Cone
John & Katherine Cort
Stephen & Joy Currie
Larry Dalton & Nicole Boand
Roy Dixon
Morris & Sandra Dodd
John Douglas (D)
Gregory Edmiston & Debra Leith
Ann Eggers
Bruce Eichinger & Sandra Jackson-Eichinger
Linda & John Fagan
Marjorie & Andris Faltens
Edmond & Cathy Fey
David Ginger Jr.
Laura & John Goldstone
Ed Grant
Shirley & John Gray
Paul (D) & Karen Gudiksen
Christina & Olgun Guvench
Robert Hall
Edward Hardwidge
Howard & Connie Harris Jr.
William Harrison
Gary & Barbara Hickernell
David & Lois Hinman
Tom Hom & Mae Rosok
Allison & Daniel Hord
Susan Howell
Jeanne Hsu
Eric Hustedt
Judith Jaehning & Barry Polisky
Natarajan Janarthanan & Ponni Rajagopal
Chris Johnson
Larry & Lani Johnson
Lewis Johnson
Mark Jones
Majja Jorgensen
Larry & Maureen Kirk
Diana Knight
David & Franki Kohler
Alvin & Verla Kwiram
Yung Yung & Eugene Lai
Gary & Marian Lampman
Lynn & Jeanne Larsen
Rhys Lawson
Gregory Lee
Linda Leinicke
Jameson & Leah Leong
Elizabeth Leovey
Wenkel Liang
Wesley Lingren
Jonathan & Helen Litz
Yang Liu
Patricia & Walter Loveland
Janet Lund
Tom & Suzanne Maricich
R. Irene & Gary Masada
Sandra & John Matsen
James Mayer & Faith Katkin
Theresa McBride
Theresa & J. Douglas McLean
James & Karen Mhyre
Theodore & Janice Mill
Cindy Mitch-Gomez & Alvaro Gomez
David Morris
Edwin Motell (D)
Alexander & Ann Motten
David Munch
Mary Anne Murphy
John & Cathy Natt
Jeffrey & Melissa Nelson
Lynn Nixon
James & Marcia Nusz
Carl & Cynthia Oda
Emery & Sonja Ojala
Marne & Joseph Osborne
Marvin Osterhout
Donna Oswald
Gary & Linda Paddock
Dick Pallett
Vanessa Palmer
Arie & Deanna Passchier
Benjamin & Kelly Paulson
Sally & Raymond Paxton
Ralph (D) and Mary Peak (D)
Kenneth Perkowski
Lucio Pessoa
Mirtes Pessoa
Alexander Phearman
Thomas & Marybeth Porter Jr.
Philip & Rosita Proteau
Dallas & Gloria Rabenstein
Ruth Rabinovitch & Thomas Treger
Catherine Radzewich
David Reichgott
William & Katrina Reinhardt
Michelle Roberts
Brian & Lisa Rohrback
Mark & Jill Rueber
Eric Saegebarth
Robert & Susan Sands
Bo Saxberg
Arnold & Susan Schaffer
Eric & Christine Schomaker
J. Michael & Karen Schurr
Johanna Schwartz
Pamela Seaton
Lauren Sharkey
Jared Silvia & Brandi Cossairt
Rodney & Ruth Sime
Amanda & Parikhit Sinha
Albert & Jeanne Siu
Ostap Stasiuk
David Sunderland & Cat Koehn
Daniel & Johanna Syrdal
Marilyn & Perry Thornton
Karen & William Timberlake
John Tinnea
Rodney Tong
Carolyn & Louis Torre
Tristan Tronic
Takashi & Leslie Tsukamaki
Mark & Katherine Voges
William & Margaret Wacholtz
John & Rosana Warren
Harriet Wasserman
Grant Webster
Stephen White
Joe Wiles
Jean Woller
Arthur Yoshimura
Lyman Young & Marion So
Julie Zalikowski
Bo Zhang
Yanqun Zhao
Leiming Zhu

Corporations and Corporate Foundations
AbbVie, Inc.
Agilent Technologies
AYCO Charitable Foundation
CNB II Family Medicine, Inc.
ExxonMobil Corporation
Ionis Pharmaceuticals

Foundations, Family Foundations, and Trusts
Emerald Sky Foundation
Gary & Irene Masada Foundation
Washington Research Foundation

(D) deceased

Contact Diana Knight, advancement & communications manager, at 206.543.1671 or by email, with corrections or questions about giving.

News Topic