You are here

Recent News

Vlada Olkhovych Defends Thesis
May 31, 2023
Congratulations to Vlada Olkhovych! She defended her thesis “Application of HS-SPME-GC for Sample Classification” on May 22nd, 2023. While in the ACST program, Vlada was a student in Rob Synovec's research group. She will be starting a new job in the pharmacokinetics lab at Fred Hutch. Vlada is from Kharkiv, Ukraine -- a place that became commonplace in the news since the Russian invasion of Ukraine -- and she is looking forward to a time she... Read more
May 26, 2023
In the Department of Chemistry, we believe that diversity and inclusivity are integral to excellence and acknowledge that important work is being done by our students and postdoctoral researchers in this space. It is a pleasure to announce the 2023 recipients of the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Leadership Awards, selected by the Chemistry Diversity and Equity Steering Committee. These awards of $500 were supported by the... Read more
Olivia celebrates her defense
May 24, 2023
Congratulations to Olivia Hakan! She defended her thesis “Working Toward a Long-term, Real-time Measurement Network for Atmospheric Aerosol Sources” on May 18, 2023. While in the ACST program Olivia was a student in Joel Thornton’s research group. She plans to enjoy the PNW summer as she transitions into the environmental or atmospheric chemistry field.
Robin Cheung with short dark hair and glasses wears a dark sport coat and light blue collared shirt. He stands in Red Square with Suzzallo Library behind him.
May 24, 2023
Congratulations to Robin Cheung for being chosen as a 2023 gonfaloniere for UW Commencement! Each year the UW’s schools and colleges select students to lead their degree candidates during the Commencement procession. These students are called gonfalonieres, because they carry the school’s gonfalon, a banner that hangs down from a crosspiece and bears that school’s name and symbol. Following tradition borrowed from the Italian Renaissance, the gonfalonieres represent some of the UW’s most... Read more
May 19, 2023
Congratulations to the graduate students in the Department of Chemistry who were awarded 2023 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships, and to the students and alumni who received honorable mentions. The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in NSF-supported science, technology, engineering, and mathematics disciplines who are pursuing research-based master’s and doctoral degrees at accredited U.S. institutions. NSF... Read more
Diana Knight, Jolyn Mason, and Cassie Davis stand in front of Drumheller Fountain with Bagley Hall behind them.
May 9, 2023
The UW Combined Fund Drive (CFD) is a workplace giving program supporting charities locally and globally. The Innovative Event Award is presented annually to campaign volunteers who demonstrate exemplary outreach and innovation in planning and executing CFD campaign events. This spring, the UW Combined Fund Drive awarded the Innovative Event Award to Chemistry campaign co-coordinators Cassie Davis and Diana Knight. Knight, who is the advancement and... Read more
A researcher holds a vial of red liquid
April 28, 2023
The Levinson Emerging Scholars Program supports talented and highly motivated UW juniors and seniors who want to pursue creative and advanced bioscience and related research. Each year, ten outstanding UW undergraduates are named Levinson Emerging Scholars and receive funding to support their original research for 2-3 quarters, including funding to present their findings at a professional conference. Five of the ten Levinson Emerging Scholars for 2022-23 are biochemistry students: Sumaya Addish... Read more
Caitlin Cain holds a wooden plaque for her CACA Student Excellence Award. She is wearing a sweater with black and white horizontal stripes and black jeans. She is standing outside in front of a short brick wall and shrubbery.
April 27, 2023
Graduate student Caitlin Cain was presented with the 2023 Student Excellence Award from the Chinese American Chromatography Association at the Pittcon Conference and Exhibition in Philadelphia, March 18-22, 2023. Caitlin works with Professor Robert Synovec on advancing instrumental and... Read more
Husky 100 wordmark
April 24, 2023
Congratulations to Rahoul Banerjee Ghosh, Priscilla Boatemaa, Hannah Han, Alex Silver, and Sarah Stucky, who have all been named to the 2023 Husky 100! The Husky 100 honors one hundred UW undergraduates and graduate students in all areas of study who actively connect what happens inside and outside of the classroom and apply what they learn to make a difference on campus, in their communities, and for the... Read more