Campbell receives Somorjai Award for Creative Research in Catalysis

Submitted by Diana Knight on

The national awards of the American Chemical Society encourage the advancement of chemistry in all its branches, support research endeavors, and promote the careers of chemists. The ACS announced on September 7, 2023, that Professor Emeritus Charles Campbell is the 2024 recipient of the Gabor A. Somorjai Award for Creative Research in Catalysis, supported by an endowed fund established by Gabor A. Somorjai and Judith K. Somorjai.

Prof. Campbell will be honored along with all 2024 ACS National Award winners at a ceremony on March 19, 2024, in conjunction with the ACS Spring National Meeting in New Orleans. Also among the honorees is Professor Mary L. “Nora” Disis, who holds multiple leadership positions in the UW School of Medicine. Dr. Disis received the ACS Award for Creative Invention, sponsored by the ACS Corporation Associates. 

Prof. Campbell retired on December 31, 2022, and was granted the title of Emeritus Professor of Chemistry, effective January 1, 2023. He remains active in research. To learn more about Professor Campbell and his career, please visit his faculty page and his research group website.