Anne McCoy receives Jack Simons Award for Theoretical Chemistry

Submitted by Diana Knight on

The Physical Chemistry Division of the American Chemical Society (ACS) selected Professor Anne McCoy as the 2023 recipient of the Jack Simons Award for Theoretical Chemistry in recognition of her outstanding contributions in theoretical chemistry.

Prof. McCoy will be honored at the Physical Chemistry Division reception at the ACS National Meeting in San Francisco in August 2023, and will be invited to present her research at the Fall Awards Symposium at the same meeting. McCoy will also be invited to present a plenary lecture at the next Telluride School on Theoretical Chemistry (TSTC), held every other summer.

McCoy received a B. S. in Chemistry from Haverford College in 1987, her Ph.D. in Chemistry from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1992 and was a Golda Meir postdoctoral fellow with Benny Gerber at the Hebrew University and University of California, Irvine. She began her independent research program at Ohio State in 1994 and moved to the University of Washington in 2015 as a full professor.

McCoy has been active in the Physical Chemistry Division of the ACS, serving as Secretary/Treasurer from 2006-2011 and as an officer from 2016-2021. She was a Senior Editor for the Journal of Physical Chemistry from 2005-2020, and the Deputy Editor of the Journal of Physical Chemistry-A for nearly ten years. She is currently the vice-chair of the Division of Chemical Physics of the American Physical Society and co-editor of Annual Reviews of Physical Chemistry.

McCoy is a Fellow of the American Physical Society (2007), the American Chemical Society (2009) and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2012), and an Elected Member of the Washington State Academy of Sciences (2020). McCoy has received a CAREER award from the National Science Foundation, the 1998 Ernst D. Bergmann Memorial Award from the US/Israel Binational Science Foundation, was named a Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar in 1999 and was recognized as an Outstanding Woman in Science by AWISCO in 2005. The American Chemical Society also bestowed upon McCoy the Francis P. Garvan–John M. Olin Medal for distinguished service to chemistry at their national meeting in March 2022.

Congratulations, Professor McCoy!

To learn more about Professor McCoy and her research, please visit her faculty page and research group website.