Chemistry faculty elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences

Submitted by Diana Knight on

We are pleased to announce that Professors Brandi Cossairt, Munira Khalil, and Alshakim Nelson were elected to the Washington State Academy of Sciences (WSAS), along with 35 other new members, recognizing their outstanding record of scientific and technical achievement. This Academy is designed to bring the best available science to bear on issues within the state of Washington.

The 2021 class of new members is composed of 29 scientists and engineers elected by their WSAS peers and 9 members recently elected to the National Academies of Science, Engineering, or Medicine, who live or work in the state of Washington. Twenty of these new WSAS members are scientists and engineers at the University of Washington and they all bring diverse expertise and experience to WSAS.

New members will be inducted at the 14th Annual Members’ Meeting on September 16, 2021. For details, visit the WSAS website.

Cossairt headshot outdoors

Brandi Cossairt
, Professor of Chemistry
For leadership in the innovative synthesis and chemical modification of nanoscale materials for application in light emission and catalysis.

Khalil portrait

Munira Khalil
, Leon C. Johnson Professor and Chair of Chemistry
For developing new spectroscopy tools for measuring energy flow in molecules and materials with high spatial and temporal resolution.

Nelson portrait

Alshakim Nelson
, Associate Professor of Chemistry
For exceptional contributions to the development of synthetic polymers and nanomaterials for self-assembly and advanced manufacturing with application in sustainability, medicine, and microelectronics.

Congratulations to Professors Cossairt, Khalil, and Nelson!

Featured on UW News